My Pet Peeve – ‘Beauty Bargains’

20131111-203626.jpg

Everyone loves a bargain, I do. I’ll gladly fight the crowds in Primark for costume jewellery, I’ve snapped up MUA lipsticks in Superdrug, BUT my pet peeve is seeing people advertising cut-price beauty treatments!

Am I afraid of the competition? If the people offering cut-price services were offering amazing treatments at a fabulous price I would be! But fortunately very unfortunately the people offering these services are often unqualified, uninsured liabilities.

I’ve had brides ring me saying the girl they paid £10 to do their make-up on their big day hasn’t bothered turning up. I’ve seen lash extensions that were more glue than lash. I’ve had clients come to me with thin pitted nails after a lovely set of nail extensions they had. These arn’t bargains! The people doing these treatments shouldn’t be charging at all. Some should be made to stay at least 2metres away from all other humans.

Professionals know the costs of treatments, and know what prices people need to be charging to make a living. So when we see the latest ‘bargain beauty’ offer pop up on facebook we have our heads in our hands screaming ‘nooooo’ at the laptop knowing this clearly isn’t someone with professionalism and a passion for beauty, but another person wanting to make a quick buck. And they probably will make a quick buck, before selling their kit on eBay a month later.

So beauty treatments should be expensive? Not at all, a high end spa may charge a lot for a treatment where a mobile therapist may be much cheaper but still offer an excellent service. If you’re unsure ask to see certificates and photos of their previous work (not photos they’ve found off google, their actual work!)

I’m on a budget! A few safe ways to get pampered on a tight budget: Model for students at your local college, students are supervised by tutors and have to be aware of all important health and safety before they are unleashed on the public. Get a group of friends together and ask a local salon they will do a pamper evening on mini treatments. Look out for specials offers, I often put special offers on my facebook page.

November 11, 2013. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

